David Wheatley

Wheatley’s is a poetry of displacement, uncertainty and sheer possibility; jumping from place to place, idea to idea, the real to the imagined . . . Stimulating, resourceful and often very funny . . .
— Ben Wilkinson, The Guardian

Search the Shop

Search by Author

David Wheatley was born in Dublin in 1970. He now teaches at the University of Aberdeen, having previously taught in Hull University.

He has published four collections with The Gallery Press: Thirst (1997, Rooney Prize for Irish Literature), Misery Hill (2000), Mocker (2006) and A Nest on the Waves (2010). He is the translator of the bilingual collection Foreign News (2017) by Aifric Mac Aodha. With Justin Quinn was a founder-editor of Metre. 

David Wheatley was awarded the Vincent Buckley Prize in 2008 and features in The Penguin Book of Irish Poetry. 

He has also edited the Poems of James Clarence Mangan (Gallery, 2003) and Samuel Beckett’s Selected Poems 1930-1989 (Faber, 2009).

He features in The Penguin Book of Irish Poetry, Identity Parade: New British & Irish Poets and other anthologies. He reviews for a wide range of journals, including The Guardian and the Times Literary Supplement. 

David Wheatley Titles

A Nest on the Waves

‘Stimulating, resourceful and often very funny, this is an impressive collection.’
— Ben Wilkinson, The Guardian

A Nest on the Waves, taking its title from the folk belief that petrels lay their eggs at sea, ruminates on themes of travel, leave-taking and displacement.

€11.95 pb
€18.50 hb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb