Michael Coady

Sureness of technique . . . unlaboured control of dialect in the ‘overheard’ prose stories . . . compelling and heartening . . . In Michael Coady’s work the local is never patronised; without ever being sentimental or mawkish, it is an accepting view of the world. At the end you still wonder how Coady does it, how he achieves this humane sense of natural goodness, the most difficult of all things to represent convincingly.

Bernard O’Donoghue, The Irish Times

Search the Shop

Search by Author

Michael Coady by Martina Coady

Michael Coady was born in 1939 in Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary where he still lives. Winner of the Patrick Kavanagh Award for Poetry in 1979 and the O’Shaughnessy Poetry Award (2004), he held the Heimbold Chair of Irish Studies at Villanova University in Spring 2005.

He has published six collections with The Gallery Press: Two for a Woman, Three for a Man (1980), Oven Lane (1987, a Poetry Ireland Choice. Revised 2014), All Souls (1997), One Another (2003), Going By Water (2009) and Given Light (2017). Relay Books published Full Tide, a miscellany, in 1999.

The epic story of Irish emigration to America has been a significant element in his work in relation to lost family ties and their ’emotional archaeology’. In his critically-acclaimed All Souls, and again in One Another and Going By Water, he successfully integrated poetry, prose and his own photographs in works of orchestrated unity. His writing emerges from an intimately known anchorage of place, with abiding themes of transience and continuity, chance and memory, set against the human interplay of unsung lives and destinies. Humour and compassion are notable in his work, as is musical reference: a self-styled ‘lapsed trombonist’, his sustaining passion for music ranges eclectically from classical to jazz and Irish traditional music and in 1996 he self-published The Well of Spring Water, a personal memoir of longstanding friends, the Clare musicians Pakie and Micho Russell.

Michael Coady is a member of Aosdána.

Michael Coady Titles

Given Light

Given Light, Michael Coady’s most moving book to date, incorporates — in his own inimitable style — poetry, prose and photographs.

€12.95 pb
€18.50 hb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb