Selected Stories


by Brian Friel

Revised, Enlarged Edition

Available in Paperback only



Admirers of Brian Friel’s drama will find in these stories (‘Foundry House’ and ‘The Diviner’) prefigurations of some of his greatest plays (Aristocrats and Faith Healer) while one of the three stories that enlarge this edition, narrating a boy’s journey to stay with his five maiden aunts, reveals the seed from which Dancing at Lughnasa blossomed. It is clear that the playwright’s fictions first found expression in the short story form.

Each of these stories is set in the north west of Ireland and deals with the everyday faiths and hopes which help their characters to survive. In many of them there is makebelieve and illusion, the necessary self-deceptions which enhance memory. In all of them there is humour, resilience and dignity. They are told with the sureness and tact of a master.

‘A fine book, full of unobtrusive excellences.’
Robert Nye, The Guardian

‘Perfect marriages of dialogue, detail and atmosphere.’
D.E.S. Maxwell

Year Published: 1979. Revised edition: 2017
Details: 176pp
ISBN PBK: 978 1 91133 700 3

The Gallery Press