Dennis O’Driscoll (1954-2012)

Dennis O’Driscoll will be remembered and read as one of the foremost writers of his generation — a clear-sighted poet and balanced critic who believed in what he was doing for its own sake.

Gerald Dawe, Dublin Review of Books

Search the Shop

Search by Author

Dennis O’Driscoll was born in Thurles in 1954. The Gallery Press published two selections of his essays and reviews, Troubled Thoughts, Majestic Dreams in 2001 and The Outnumbered Poet in 2013.

His eight books of poetry include New and Selected Poems (2004), a Poetry Book Society Special Commendation, Reality Check (2007) and Dear Life (Winner of the Irish Times Poetry Now Award, 2013).

He was editor of the Bloodaxe Book of Poetry Quotations (2006) and Quote Poet Unquote (2008).  His book, Stepping Stones: Interviews with Seamus Heaney (2008), was shortlisted for ‘Book of the Decade’ in the Irish Book Awards 2010.

He received a Lannan Literary Award, the E.M. Forster Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry, and the Argosy Irish Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award.  He was a member of Aosdána and an Honorary Member of the Royal Hibernian Academy and was awarded an honorary doctorate in literature by University College Dublin in 2009. He judged many major awards, including the Griffin Poetry Prizes, T.S. Eliot Prize, Cholmondeley Awards (Society of Authors) and Geoffrey Faber Award.

As a reviewer, he contributed to, among others, The Irish Times, Times Literary Supplement, London Review of Books, Parnassus, London Magazine, Poetry (Chicago), Harvard Review and A Poetry Criticism Reader (University of Iowa Press).

Dennis O’Driscoll died in 2012.

Dennis O’Driscoll Titles

The Outnumbered Poet


A second collection of Critical Essays and Autobiographical Prose by the sorely lamented champion of poetry.

€17.50 pb
€30.00 hb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb