Seamus Heaney 1939-2013

Seamus Heaney won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995 ‘for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past’.

Search the Shop

Search by Author

Seamus HeaneySeamus Heaney was born in County Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1939 and died in Dublin in 2013 by which time he was the most admired and loved poet in the world.

His books include twelve collections – from Death of a Naturalist (1966) to Human Chain (2010) and an acclaimed translation of Beowulf (1999).

His Gallery publications include The Midnight Verdict (translations from the Irish of Brian Merriman and from the Metamorphoses of Ovid, 1993), Crediting Poetry (The Nobel Lecture, 1995), Laments by Jan Kochanowski (translated by Seamus Heaney and Stanislaw Baranczak, 2009), The Last Walk (translations from the Italian of Giovanni Pascoli with paintings and drawings by Martin Gale, 2013 (out of print)) and a personal essay in honour of Brian Friel, Spelling It Out (2009).

Seamus Heaney Titles

Spelling It Out

… I thought it worth the risk to spell out some of the things we know and love and value about Brian by focussing on the letters of his name…

Seamus Heaney’s Spelling It Out is a personal essay in honour of our greatest living playwright, Brian Friel, on his 80th birthday. It includes tender recollection and high critical observation.

€15.00 pb
(published in sewn wrappers)

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb