John Jordan (1930-1988)

When John Jordan died in 1988 he had forty years of literary endeavour and achievement behind him as editor, critic, story-teller, and poet, and as academic, broadcaster, and man of the Theatre. And the very variety of the disciplines makes it hard to achieve a clear view of any one of them: when you focus on any one thing another stands out.’  — MacDara Woods, Poetry Ireland

Search the Shop

Search by Author

John JordanJohn Jordan (1930-1988) was a poet, critic and short story writer.

His publications include A Raft from Flotsam (Gallery, 1975, ‘versifications’), Blood and Stations (Gallery, 1976, poems and prose) and Yarns (stories). His Collected Poems (Dedalus) was published in 1991 and Crystal Clear, a selection of his prose was published by Lilliput Press in 2006.

John Jordan was a member of Aosdána.

John Jordan Titles

Blood and Stations

John Jordan’s Blood and Stations contains his moving commemoration of his friend Gainor Crist, allegedly the original Sebastian Dangerfield; an early prose fantasy; and an amplified version of his Patrician Stations, out of print since its first publication in 1971 by the New Writers’ Press.

€7.50 pb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb