Seán Dunne (1956-1995)

Seán Dunne’s poetry retains the ‘meaning’ of gesture as he dramatizes the way people live their lives and lays it before his reader without the self regard we have come to expect of much contemporary poetry.
There can be little doubt that, had he lived, Seán Dunne would have written with the authority of real and lasting artistic achievement behind him . . .

— Gerald Dawe, The Irish Times

Search the Shop

Search by Author

Seán DunneSeán Dunne was born in Waterford in 1956. He graduated from UCC and made his home in Cork where he became Literary Editor with The Cork Examiner. He died, at the age of 39, in 1995.

He published three collections of poems, Against the Storm (Dolmen, 1985), The Sheltered Nest (Gallery, 1992) and Time and the Island (Gallery, 1996) and a memoir In My Father’s House (Gallery, 2000) which was first published in 1991. His Collected was published by The Gallery Press in 2005. 

The Road to SilenceAn Irish Spiritual Odyssey was published by New Island Books in 1994. Among the anthologies he edited are Poets of Munster (1985), The Cork Anthology (1993) and Something Understood (1995).

Seán Dunne Titles


Published posthumously, Collected, a book of poems and translations by Seán Dunne, celebrates a sorely lamented voice in Irish poetry. Inevitably, Seán Dunne’s three collections are the quoinstones of this book. Included also are unpublished and previously uncollected works, notably his long ‘Letter from Ireland’ and a substantial selection of translations from Anna Akhmatova.

€15.00 hb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb


“Refugees”, read by Gerald Dawe.

‘A Shower of Rain’ Gerald Dawe.

‘Snap’ by Gerald Dawe.

‘Argentina’ by Gerald Dawe.