Sara Berkeley

Like Louise Glück’s The House on the Marshland and Medbh McGuckian’s earlier work, these poems choose to ‘hunker down near the rim of the world’ for their images, where they lucidly criss-cross boundaries between the speaker’s emotions and the landscape without succumbing to pathetic fallacy or becoming tritely confessional . . .

— Selina Guinness, The Irish Times

. . . her rich poems and her sharp eye for details of the natural world — are given a resonant tension by the stretched ties to her native country.

— Anthology of Modern Irish Poetry

Search the Shop

Search by Author

Sara BerkeleySara Berkeley was born in Dublin in 1967 and educated at Trinity College, Dublin, and the University of California, Berkeley.

Raven Arts Press published her first collection, Penn, in 1986. Since then she has published Home Movie Nights (poems, 1989), The Swimmer in the Deep Blue Dream (stories, 1992), Facts about Water (new and selected poems, 1994) and Shadowing Hannah (a novel, 1999). The Gallery Press has published her recent poetry collections, Strawberry Thief (2005), The View from Here (2010) and What Just Happened (2015).

She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Sara Berkeley Titles

What Just Happened

What Just Happened includes poems set on the west coasts of Ireland and the United States. But ‘the rumble beneath her poetic language . . . is most often the noise made by the tectonic plates of personality as they shift beneath the surface terrain of relationships’ (Wes Davis).

€11.95 pb
€18.50 hb

Recent Gallery Press Titles

Aidan Carl MatthewsAidan Carl Mathews was born in 1956 and educated at UCD, TCD, and Stanford University. He has published three collections of poetry, WindfallsMinding Ruth (Gallery, 1983) and According to the Small Hours (1998). He has published short stories: Adventures in a Bathyscope (which was shortlisted for the GPA Award), Lipstick on the Host and Charlie Chaplin's Wishbone (2016, Lilliput) and a novel, Muesli at Midnight. Other awards include an Irish Times Award, Patrick Kavanagh Award, Macauley Fellowship and an Academy of American Poets Award.

His plays include Exit/Entrance (Gallery 1990), The Diamond BodyThe Antigone, a new version of The House of Bernarda Alba and Communion (2003). He edited Immediate ManCuimhní ar Chearbhall Ó Dálaigh. He works as a radio drama producer in RTE.

Aidan Carl Mathews Titles

Minding Ruth

Aidan Mathews’ first volume Windfalls, distinguished in itself, gave promise for the future. Minding Ruth fulfils, if it does not indeed go beyond the expectations roused by that first volume. — Seamus Deane

€10.00 pb
€15.50 hb